A Teen from India




golf course (2) therapeutic
gulf whatever write/wrote/written
enjoy golf course make/made/made
free (2) channel (3) swim/swam/swum
play (3) free time as often as I can
cafe important think/thought/thought
reach hang out interior designer
design interior good/better/best
cool (2) thing (2) opportunity
goal (2) freedom make a living
afraid live up to sell/sold/sold
fail director expectation
set stuff (3)







What’s your name?

My name is Mia Aliyah Makhija and I live in Bangalore in India.

What do you do in your free time?

In my free time I like to make music and I like to write songs. And I also like to swim.

And I like to read and play golf; I go to the golf courses as often as I can. Because I do enjoy golf and do think golf is therapeutic and it’s important for me to channel my energy or whatever to a sport. So for me, golf is that sport.

And I also like to hang out at the cafe with my friends.

What do your parents do for work?

My dad is a film director, and my mom is an interior designer.

Do you think you have it better than your grandparents did?

I do think that as society has progressed, I have a little more freedom to do different things and have more opportunities, that maybe my grandparents did not have at that time.

What do you want to be when you’re older?

I want to be a musician. Do this stuff for a living. It would be really cool. Make music. Sell my music.

What are you afraid of?

I’m afraid of not living up to everyone’s expectations. That includes my expectations. I don’t want to fail or not reach the goals that I’ve set for myself.

*     *     *     *     *     *     *



Soccer. Mia lives in a small town in Canada. True or false?

Basketball, Volleyball. Does she like to play video games on her device and play soccer and basketball?

Football, Baseball. She plays golf because she wants to be a world champion. Is this correct or incorrect?

Swimming, Surfing, Snorkeling, Scuba Diving.
Is Mia’s father a IT (Information Technology (computer)) engineer and her mother a math teacher?

Hiking, Walking, Cycling.
She believes that her grandparents had a more satisfying (better) life than she has. Is this right or wrong?

Canoeing, Kayaking, Sailing.
Does Mia want to be a doctor, lawyer or teacher?

Gymnastics, Acrobatics.
Is she afraid of ghosts and monsters?


Golf. My friend plays a guitar, and I can also play a musical instrument. True or false?

Tennis, Badminton.
Are swimming and golf popular in your city or country?

Horse Riding.
I was born in India. I live in India. I have visited India. Yes or no?

Rock Climbing.
I have eaten Indian food. Are there any Indian restaurants in your city? What is Indian food like? Describe Indian food.

Skiing, Snowboarding.
Describe the geography and climate of India.

Roller Skating, Skateboarding.
What are some tourist attractions in India?

Tae kwon do, Jiu Jitsu, Muay Thai. Describe India’s economy.

Comments are closed.