student from australia

A Student from Australia



dry science at the moment
clerk broccoli sales clerk
truck currently high school
curry deliver drive/drove/driven
beef goal (2) part-time
mash chips (2) mashed potatoes
fresh graduate free time
roast boutique shawarma
rent go out dormitory
fit capital household
device furniture appliance



Hello. My name is Scott. I am 19 years old and live in Sydney, Australia.

Last year I graduated from high school, and now study mechanical engineering at a university. I also work part-time as a sales clerk at an electronics store. It sells technical devices and household appliances.

At the moment, I live at home with my family to save money. I would like to live in my own apartment, but rents are quite high. Some of my friends live in college dormitories.

My mother works as a nurse in a hospital, and my father makes furniture in a factory. I have a younger sister, Brigit. She is in high school.


In the evening, I do my homework and help clean the house. For dinner, we often have roast chicken or beef with broccoli or cauliflower and mashed potatoes.

In my free time, I often go out with my friends. We walk in the park, visit the city center, or a shopping mall. Sometimes we eat fast-food such as pizza or shawarma.

My goal is to work in the wind power industry. My best friend wants to become a fitness coach.

*     *     *     *     *     *



1. Who is the writer? What is his name? How old is he? His name is . . . . . . .

2. Scott is from Canada. True or false? Where is he from? Where does he live? He is from . . . . . .

3. Does he work in McDonald’s? What is his occupation, job or profession? He is . . . . . . and works . . . .

4. He is majoring in (studying) accounting at university. Is this right or wrong?

5. Does Scott rent an apartment, and lives with with a flatmate?

6. What do Scott’s parents do? What is his sister’s occupation?

7. Is his family lower class (poor), working class, middle-class, upper-middle class or upper-class (rich)?

8. Does he help in the house?

9. In his free time, he mostly plays video games. Is this correct or incorrect?

10. Do he and his friend eat in French restaurants? What are his favorite foods?

11. What is Scott’s goal or ambition? He wants to . . . . . . . . .
A. Now talk about about yourself. Where are you from? Where do you live?

B. What is your job?

C. What do you do in the afternoon and evenings?

D. What do you do on weekends?

E. What are your hobbies and pastimes?

F. What are your goals and ambitions?

Comments are closed.