The Student from Kansas



wheat manager office manager
chore weekend take the bus
subject various homework
help favorite weekday
lake grow up shopping mall
chess engineer drive/drove/driven




Jeremy and his Family

Hello. My name is Jeremy Orville. I’m 12 years old, and come from Kansas in the center of the United States.

I live on a farm with my family. My dad is a wheat farmer, and my mom works as an office manager at a small company in a nearby town. I have an older sister, Linda; she’s a high-school student.


On weekday mornings, I wake up early, get ready and take the bus to school. There, I meet my friends, and have classes. My favorite subjects are math and computers.

After school, I return home and help my father with various farm chores. Then I do my homework.

Sometimes, I play baseball or basketball with my neighbors. We might go swimming in a stream as well. I also belong to the school chess club.


During the weekend, my family and I often drive to the city. There we visit shopping malls, watch a movie, and eat at a restaurant.

I’d like to be a computer engineer when I grow up.



*     *     *     *     *     *     *


1. Who is this person? What is his name? How old is he? Where is he from?

2. Jeremy lives alone in an apartment. True or false?

3. His sister is a university student. Yes or no? Do both his parents work in a company?

4. Does Jeremy walk to school? How does he go to school? Are his favorite school subjects social studies and literature? What are his favorite subjects?

5. After school, Jeremy only plays and plays and plays with his friends. Is this right or wrong? What are his hobbies?

6. During the weekend, does he only stay at home?

7. When he grows up, Jeremy will be a farmer, just like his father. Is this correct or incorrect? What does he want to be when he grows up?


A. What’s your name? How old are you? Where are you from?

B. Describe your family. What do your parents do? What are your parents’ jobs?

C. Do you attend school? How do (did) you go to school? What are (were) your favorite school subjects?

D. I do chores around the house. True or false? If yes, what do you do?

E. Do you have any hobbies or pastimes? What are your hobbies or pastimes?

F. What do you often or sometimes do during the weekends?

G. What do you want to be when you grow up? What did you want to want to be when you were a child?

Comments are closed.