London university student

A Student in London



capital science at the moment
clerk broccoli sales clerk
truck currently high school
curry deliver drive/drove/driven
beef goal (2) part-time
mash chips (2) mashed potatoes
go out graduate free time
roast boutique shawarma



Hello. My name is Joey. I am 19 years old and live in London, the capital of Britain.

Last year I graduated from high school, and now study sports science at a university. I also work as a sales clerk at an electronics store; it’s a part-time job.

At the moment, I live at home with my family. My mother works in an office of a company (she is an office manager), and my father is a plumber (he installs and fixes plumbing). I have a younger sister, Rene. She is still in high school.

In the evening, I help clean the house and do my homework. Then the whole family has dinner. My favorite meals are curry chicken and rice, roast beef with broccoli and mashed potatoes, and shepherd’s pie.

In my free time, I go out with my best friend. We often walk in the park, visit the city center, or a shopping mall. Sometimes we eat fast-food such as pizza or shawarma.

My goal is to become a fitness coach. My friend wants to be a fitness club manager.



*       *       *       *       *       *



1. What is the person’s name? How old is he? His name is . . . . . . .

2. Where is he from? Where does he live? He is from . . . . . .

3. What is Joey’s occupation, job or profession? He is . . . . . . and works . . . .

4. He is majoring in (studying) computer science (information technology) at university. True or false?

5. He rents an apartment and lives with a flatmate. Yes or no?

6. What do Joey’s parents do? What is his sister’s occupation?

7. Is his family rich, upper-middle class, middle-class, working class, or poor?

8. Does Joey do chores at home?

9. In his free time, he plays video games. Is this right or wrong?

10. Do he and his friend eat in French restaurants?

11. What is Joey’s goal or ambition? He wants to . . . . . . . . .
A. Now talk about yourself. Where are you from? Where do you live?

B. I am a software developer. Yes or no? What is your job?

C. What do you do in the afternoon and evening?

D. On weekends, do you and your friends go to the disco? What do you do on weekends?

E. My hobbies are painting and wood carving. True or false? What are your hobbies and pastimes?

F. Is your goal to become a president? What are your goals and ambitions?

Comments are closed.