A Student in London




capital science at the moment
clerk broccoli sales clerk
truck currently high school
curry deliver drive/drove/driven
beef goal (2) part-time
mash chips (2) mashed potatoes
go out graduate free time
roast boutique shawarma




Hello. My name is Scott. I am 19 years old and live in London, the capital of Britain.

Last year I graduated from high school, and now study archeology at a London University. I also work as a store clerk at a small grocery store; it’s a part-time job.

At the moment, I live at home with my family. My mother works in the human resources of a company, and my father delivers fruits and vegetables to shops with a truck. I have an older sister, Samantha. She is married and works in a biochemical lab at a hospital.

In the evening, I either work, or do my homework and read books. For dinner, my family often have curry chicken and vegetables with rice, roast beef with broccoli and mashed potatoes, or shepherd’s pie.

During the weekend when I have free time, I go out with my girlfriend (we met in one of our classes). We often walk in one of the parks in London, visit the city center, museums, and antique stores. Sometimes we eat street food at marketplaces.

My goal is to work in wildlife conservation. My girlfriend wants to be a medical anthropologist, researching communities with healthy centenarians.




*     *     *     *     *     *



1. Who is the writer? What is his name? How old is he? His name is . . . . . . .

2. Where is Scott from? Where does he live? He is from . . . . . .

3. What is Scott’s occupation, job or profession? He is a . . . . . . and also works . . . .

4. He is majoring in (studying) business administration at university. True or false?

5. Scott rents an apartment with a roommate. Yes or no?

6. What do his parents do? Is his sister also a student? What is his sister’s occupation?

7. Do you think Scott’s family rich, upper-middle class, middle-class, working class, or poor?

8. Do he and his family usually have pizzas and hamburgers for dinner?

9. In his free time, Scott watches TV shows. Is this right or wrong?

10. Do he and his girlfriend like to eat at French restaurants?

11. What is Scott’s goal or ambition? He wants to . . . . . . . . .
A. Now talk about yourself. Where are you from? Where do you live?

B. I am a software developer. Yes or no? What is your job?

C. What do you do in the afternoon and evenings?

D. On weekends, do you and your friends go to the disco? What do you do on weekends?

E. My hobbies are painting and wood carving. True or false? What are your hobbies and pastimes?

F. Is your goal to become a president? What are your goals and ambitions?

Comments are closed.