canadian student

A Student from Canada



dry science at the moment
clerk broccoli sales clerk
truck currently high school
curry deliver drive/drove/driven
beef goal (2) part-time
mash chips (2) mashed potatoes
fresh graduate free time
roast boutique shawarma
rent go out dormitory
fit capital furniture




Hello. My name is Sharon. I am 19 years old and live in Calgary, the capital of the province of Alberta in Canada.

Last year I graduated from high school, and now study sports science at a university. I also work part-time as a sales clerk at a small store. It sells mostly fruits and vegetables.

At the moment, I live at home with my family to save money. I would like to live in my own apartment, but rents are quite high. Some of my friends live in college dormitories.

My mother works as a cook in a hospital, and my father makes furniture in a factory. I have a younger brother, Ryan. He is still in high school.



In the evening, I sometimes help my mother prepare dinner. We like roast chicken or beef with broccoli or cauliflower and mashed potatoes.

In my free time, I often go out with my friends. We walk in the park, visit the city center, or a shopping mall. Sometimes we eat fast-food such as pizza or shawarma.

My goal is to become a fitness coach and work in a gym or fitness center. My best friend wants to teach yoga, and eventually open a yoga center.




*     *     *     *     *     *


1. Who is the writer? What is her name? How old is she? Her name is . . . . . . .

2. Where is she from? Where does she live? She is from . . . . . .

3. What is Sharon’s occupation, job or profession? She is . . . . . . and works . . . .

4. She is majoring in (studying) economics at university. True or false?

5. She rents an apartment with a roommate. Yes or no?

6. What do Sharon’s parents do? What is her brother’s occupation?

7. Is her family rich, middle-class, working class, or poor?

8. Does she help her mother?

9. In her free time, she plays video games. Is this right or wrong?

10. Do she and her friend eat in French restaurants?

11. What is Sharon’s goal or ambition? She wants to . . . . . . . . .

A. Now talk about about yourself. Where are you from? Where do you live?

B. What is your job?

C. What do you do in the afternoon and evenings?

D. What do you do on weekends?

E. What are your hobbies and pastimes?

F. What are your goals and ambitions?


Comments are closed.