A Student in New York




capital science at the moment
clerk broccoli store clerk
truck currently high school
curry deliver drive/drove/driven
beef goal (2) part-time
mash chips (2) mashed potatoes
go out graduate free time
roast boutique shawarma




Hello. My name is Candace. I am 19 years old, and come from New York City. To tell you about my family, my mother is an office manager, and my father works in construction, mostly repairing and refurbishing apartment buildings. My younger brother, Patrick, is in intermediate school (middle school).

After graduating from high school, I enrolled in the City University of New York, where I am majoring in psychology. I also work part-time as a clerk at a health food store.

Even though my university is only half-an-hour away by foot from my parents’ home, I live in a campus dormitory with two roommates; they are from New Zealand and Switzerland.

When I’m not working in the evening, I do my homework and surf the internet. For dinner, I usually have a salad and whatever the meal of the day is at my dormitory cafeteria.

In our free time, my roommates and I like to go out. We often walk in Central Park, visit downtown Brooklyn or Queens, or a shopping mall. Sometimes we eat at Thai, Greek or Cuban restaurants.

My goal is to become a health and wellness consultant, and help people become fit and trim. One of my roommates wants to be a restaurant reviewer (a food critic), and travel around the world; the other is still undecided.




*     *     *     *     *     *



1. Who is the writer? What is her name? How old is she? Her name is . . . . . . .

2. Where is Candace from? Where does she live? She lives in . . . . . .

3. What is her occupation, job or profession? She is . . . . . . and she also works . . . .

4. Candace is majoring in (studying) computer science at her university. True or false?

5. Does she live with her parents?

6. What do Candace’s parents do?

7. Is her family lower-class (poor), lower-middle class (working class), middle-class, upper-middle class or upper class (rich)?

8. Does Candace prepare and cook her own meals?

9. In her free time, she watches movies in theaters and hangs out in bars. Is this right or wrong?

10. Do she and her roommates frequently eat hamburgers and French fries at McDonald’s and Burger King?

11. What is Candace’s goal or ambition? She wants to . . . . . . . . .
A. Now talk about yourself. Where are you from? Where do you live?

B. I am a software developer. Yes or no? What is your job?

C. What do you do in the afternoon and evenings?

D. On weekends, do you and your friends go to the disco? What do you do on weekends?

E. My hobbies are painting and wood carving. True or false? What are your hobbies and pastimes?

F. My goal to become a president. What are your goals and ambitions?

Comments are closed.